Renard Centre of Marine Geology
Department of Geology, Universiteit Gent

  Staff
Prof. Dr. Marc DE BATIST, Geologist, Senior Full Professor
E-mail: Marc.DeBatist@UGent.be
URL: ResearcherID
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4587
Marine geology/geophysics, limnogeology, paleoseismology, paleoclimatology, shallow gas and gashydrates
Prof. Dr. David VAN ROOIJ, Geologist, Associate Professor
E-mail:
David.VanRooij@UGent.be 
URL: ResearcherID

Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4583
Contourite drifts, cold-water coral ecosystems, deep-water sedimentology, seismic stratigraphy
Prof. Dr. Sébastien BERTRAND, Geologist, Guest Professor
E-mail: Sebastien.Bertrand@UGent.be
URL: ResearcherID
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4591

Paleoclimatology, sediment geochemistry, fjords, Patagonia
Dr. Benjamin AMANN, Geologist, Scientific Personnel
E-mail:
Benjamin.Amann@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4637


Paleoclimatology, lake and fjord sediments

Dr. Tim COLLART, Geologist, Associated collaborator
E-mail: Tim.Collart@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4589

Cold-water coral mounds,  Bay of Biscay, submarine canyons, palaeoceanography
Dr. David GARCIA MORENO, Geologist, Associated collaborator
E-mail: 
dgarcia@naturalsciences.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4584


Quaternary Geology, paleogeography, active tectonics, paleoseismology, seismic risks and hazards
Dr. Inka MEYER, Geographer, Scientific Personnel
E-mail: Inka.Meyer@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4591


Clastic sediments, provenance studies, grain size, paleoenvironments of Africa
Dr. Tine MISSIAEN, Physicist - Quaternary Scientist, Associated collaborator
E-mail: tine.missiaen@vliz.be
Phone : +32 (0)59 341417


Shallow marine seismics, intertidal, submerged landscapes, geoarcheology
Dr. Romain RUBI, Geologist, Associated collaborator
E-mail: 
romain.rubi@uliege.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4584



Contourite drifts, paleoceanography, deep-water sedimentology
Dr. Thomas VANDORPE, Geologist, Associated collaborator
E-mail:
thomas.vandorpe@vliz.be
Phone :
+32 (0)59 341304


Contourite drifts, sea-floor mapping
Stijn ALBERS, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
Stijn.Albers@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4573


Limnogeology, sedimentology, paleoclimate
Evelien BOES, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Evelien.Boes@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4590


Paleoseismology, tsunami deposits, varves, lake sediments
Vasileios CHADEMENOS, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Vasileios.Chademenos@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4584


Geology, geoarchaeology, voxel modeling, North Sea
Koen DE RYCKER, Seismic engineer, Technical Personnel
E-mail:
Koen.DeRycker@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4593


Geophysical equipment, acoustics, sediment coring
Dawei LIU, Oceanographer, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Dawei.Liu@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4566


Marine geochemistry, Geochemistry, Chemical oceanography
Alice MATOSSIAN, Geologist - Oceanographer, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Alice.Matossian@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 
4589


Contourites, oceanography 
Thomas MESTDAGH, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Thomas.Mestdagh@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4590


Contourites, North Atlantic, sequence stratigraphy
Sonia PAPILI, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
Sonia.Papili@UGent.be



Loic PIRET, Geologist, Assistant
E-mail:
Loic.Piret@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4566


Glacier dynamics, sedimentology, Patagonia
Nore PRAET, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
Nore.Praet@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4573


Alaskan paleoseismology, lake sediments, seismic stratigraphy,
turbidites
Matthias TROCH, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: 
Matthias.Troch@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4637


Holocene glacier dynamics, fjords, paleoclimatology, Patagonia
Xiaolong SONG, Geotechnical Engineer, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
song.xiaolong@ugent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4584



Gas hydrates, soil mechanics, slope stability modelling
Elke VANDEKERKHOVE, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Elke.Vandekerkhove@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4590

Glacial lake outburst floods, sedimentology, paleoclimatology, Patagonia, Alaska
Lotte VERWEIRDER, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail: Lotte.Verweirder@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 
4589

Seafloor instabilities, tsunamis
Katleen WILS, Geologist, Ph.D. student
E-mail:
Katleen.Wils@UGent.be
Phone : +32 (0)9 264 4573


Interseismic deformation, earthquakes, modelling, Chile

 Back to home page          Marc.DeBatist@UGent.be          Last update: 2 March 2020